Medal of Achievement Award

The TechAmerica Medal of Achievement Award recognizes significant contributions to the advancement of the high-tech industry and for distinguished service to the community, the industry and humankind.  This is the highest award that the Association bestows and has a history of honoring those that have shaped the U.S. technology industry and greatly contributed to the industry’s global leadership position.

2013 Honoree – Lowell McAdam, Chairman & CEO of Verizon

L.McAdamIn 2013, TechAmerica was proud to honor Lowell McAdam, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Verizon. Mr. McAdam has been a transformational force in erasing the line between telecommunications and technology. His career has been dedicated to revolutionizing the global wireless industry while leading Verizon’s foray into emerging technologies like M2M, telematics and smart sensors, all of which continue to transform our daily lives.

Mr. McAdam assumed the CEO position at Verizon in August 2011 and the Chairmanship on January 1, 2012. Previously he served as Verizon’s President and Chief Operating Officer as well as CEO of Verizon Wireless. Prior to joining Verizon in 2000, Mr. McAdam served in leadership positions with a number of global telecommunications firms.

Mr. McAdam is a director of the National Academy Foundation, a partnership between business leaders and educators that helps high schools across the country establish and run technical and service academies to prepare students for college and careers.  He earned a bachelor’s degree in engineering from Cornell and a master’s degree in business administration from the University of San Diego.  He also spent six years in the U.S. Navy Civil Engineer Corps and became a licensed professional engineer in 1979.

Mr. McAdam’s full biography can be found here.

2013 Innovator Awards:, the world’s first and largest crowdfunding platform for social good, was honored in 2013 with the first-ever Socially Conscious Leader of the Year Award. Premal Shah, President of accepted the award on behalf of the organization.  

Dan Rosenweig, President and CEO of Chegg, was honored as TechAmerica’s 2013 Entrepreneur of the Year for his work in changing the landscape of education technology.  Prior to his current position at Chegg, Dan served as President and Chief Executive Officer of Guitar Hero and Chief Operating Officer at Yahoo! You can read his full biography here.

The 2013 Medal of Achievement and Innovator Awards Gala Dinner

The 2013 Medal of Achievement dinner was held on November 7, 2013 in Menlo Park, CA at Sharon Heights Golf and Country Club.  This year’s winners, past honorees and leading technology executives gathered to honor Lowell McAdam and celebrate the spirit of innovation embodied by his work, and the winners of the 2013 Innovator Awards.

Sponsorships and Table Purchases

The Medal of Achievement & Innovator Awards Gala Dinner provides sponsors with opportunities for executive leadership visibility, technology demonstrations and client hosting. The package of benefits includes visibility through all of TechAmerica’s marketing channels from the day you confirm through post-event coverage.  If you are interested in sponsorship opportunities for the 2014 Medal of Achievement & Innovator Awards Gala Dinner, contact contact Pamela Strother at or 202-486-5990. CLICK HERE to download the Sponsorship Benefits brochure.

2013 Sponsors: 


Grant Thornton



Champagne Toast: 

SAP America, Inc.





chegg-studenthub-tag-240-120-0 Aviat_HD_4C_CMYK

Insight Logo Large

MA LLP_2C_Descriptor_Tag

IV Logo 2011


qualcomm avayaredttrans

Medal of Achievement Honorees 1959-2012


Year Recipient Company
2012 Reid Hoffman Greylock Partners
2011 Ray Lane Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers
2010 Marc Benioff
2009 John W. Thompson Symantec Corporation
2008 Paul S. Otellini Intel Corporation
2007 William T. Archey AeA
2006 Chuck Geschke Adobe Systems
2006 John Warnock Adobe Systems
2005 Thomas J. Engibous Texas Instruments, Inc.
2004 Richard M. Levy Varian Medical Systems
2002 Edward W. Barnholt Agilent Technologies
2001 W. J. Sander III Advanced Micro Devices
2000 Charles R. Trimble Trimble Navigation Limited
1999 Lewis E. Platt Hewlett-Packard Company
1998 Dr. Irwin M. Jacobs QUALCOMM, Inc.
1997 Ray Dolby Dolby Laboratories, Inc.
1996 James F. Gibbons Stanford University
1995 J. Richard Iverson American Electronics Association
1994 Gary L. Tooker Motorola
1993 Gordon E. Moore Intel Corporation
1993 Andrew S. Grove Intel Corporation
1992 Malcolm R. Currie Hughes Aircraft
1991 Ian Ross AT&T Bell Laboratories
1990 John Young Hewlett-Packard Company
1989 Thomas J. Watson, Jr. IBM Corporation
1988 Robert W. Galvin Motorola
1987 Thomas J. Davis, Jr. Mayfield Fund
1987 Arthur Rock Arthur Rock & Company
1986 H. Ross Perot Electronic Data Systems
1985 E. E. Ferrey American Electronics Association
1984 An Wang Wang Laboratories
1983 John G. Linvill Stanford University
1982 Frank T. Cary IBM Corporation
1981 Kenneth H. Olsen Digital Equipment Corporation
1980 William J. Perry U.S. Department of Defense
1979 William C. Norris Control Data Corporation
1978 C. Lester Hogan Fairchild Camera & Instrument
1977 Arthur A. Collins Collins Radio
1976 John M. Fluke John Fluke Manufacturing
1975 William H. Pickering Jet Propulsion Laboratory
1974 Robert N. Noyce Intel Corporation
1973 John S. Foster U.S. Department of Defense
1972 Patrick E. Haggerty Texas Instruments, Inc.
1971 William R. Hewlett Hewlett-Packard Company
1970 Simon Ramo TRW
1969 John R. Moore Rockwell International
1969 Lee A. DuBridge California Institute of Technology
1968 Alexander M. Poniatoff Ampex Corporation
1967 Lawrence A. Hyland Hughes Aircraft
1966 Sigurd Varian Varian Associates, Inc.
1966 Russell H. Varian Varian Associates, Inc.
1965 Charles B. Thornton Litton Industries, Inc.
1964 Howard Vollum Tektronix, Inc.
1963 Frederick E. Terman Stanford University
1962 Daniel E. Noble Motorola
1961 Arnold O. Beckman Beckman Instruments
1960 David Packard Hewlett-Packard Company
1959 H. Leslie Hoffman Hoffman Radio
1959 Richard L. Paullus WEMA

KPMG’s Trademark are the sole property of KPMG and their use here does not imply auditing by or endorsement of KPMG


Featured Meetings & Events

Vision Federal Market Forecast Kick-Off

May 01, 2014 9:00 AM to May 01, 2014 12:00 PM

American Technology Awards Showcase

May 20, 2014 7:00 PM to May 20, 2014 9:30 PM

Technology & Government Dinner

June 12, 2014 5:30 PM to June 12, 2014 9:00 PM